Frequently Asked Questions:
Why Should I Take the Class from ConcealedCarry.com?
Do I have to be a state resident to Apply?
You need to either be a resident of Oregon or a state that borders Oregon and already possess your home states concealed license.
Do I have to be a US Citizen to apply?
What is the Application Fee for the state permit?
What is the Renewal Fee?
Will I be notified before my permit expires?
Yes. 45-90 days before your license expires you will be sent a notification in the mail.
How long does it take to get the permit after my application has been submitted?
Certain Oregon counties will hand you your CHL the same day as you go in for your appointment with the sheriff station, others will mail them to you and should be received within 7-10 business days.
What is the complete process to apply for the permit?
Those wishing to obtain their Oregon concealed handgun license must first take a handgun safety/concealed carry class from a NRA certified instructor, upon completing the course the student will receive a certificate of course completion which will be needed as proof to the sheriff that you have attended the class. After receiving the certificate the student will fill out the application in the county which they reside in and schedule an appointment with their local county sheriff station only. When the Student goes in for their appointment, they will provide a set of FBI fingerprints for Oregon’s records, a photo for their Oregon CHL and complete the final background check for Oregon.
Are Permit Holders Required to Notify Law Enforcement When Confronted?
Can Private Property Owners Prohibit Firearms on Their Property?
How long is the class?
3-4 hours long depending on the class size
Do I have to shoot a firearm for this class?
How Often Do I Have to Renew My Permit?
How Do I apply for the permit after I complete the course?
Students will need to print and fill out a application for the county which they reside in and then schedule a appointment with their local county sheriff station to complete the process.
Do Ex-Military Have to Take a Class?
Those who possess a DD-214 that presents evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service does not need to take the course.
Are there Discounts for Seniors or Veterans?
We are proud to offer our concealed classes for free to all active or veteran US service members with military ID or a copy of DD-214
Can I Take my Concealed Carry Class Online?
What is Your Refund Policy? What If I Can’t Attend the Class I Signed Up For?
We will refund students when unable to attend a class they have prepaid for. We ask for prepayment only to have a reliable count of how many students are coming. This has become necessary because we fill most of our classes to capacity. Our full refund policy can be see here.
With an Oregon CCW what states may I carry in?
Please check the map on the home page of this website
Will my or can my neighbors, friends, employer find out I have a CCW?
No, Oregon’s CCW is NOT PUBLIC INFORMATION.
Must I have a firearm to take this class?
Must I register my firearm when I receive my permit?
No, Firearms are not registered in Oregon.
What forms of payment will Oregon accept?
Payment methods will vary by county